Spam prevention
Ambassador
1,828,058
Alan May
Jameson Sotheby's International Realty - Evanston, IL
A moving experience!

My wife used to ask me a similar question about whether a certain pair of jeans made her ass look big.

 

Didn't fall for it then... not falling for it now.

Nov 28, 2021 06:22 PM
Ambassador
4,308,831
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
The right Charlotte REALTOR!

Oh wow! Tough question but, the answer is, it depends!

 

I just had a buyer that I showed 2 homes to - we won a bidding war and scheduled inspections for one day. The rest of the transaction was easy-peasy - done in 21 days.

 

I just listed a coming soon property that I have been arranging contractors for rehabbing for the past 2.5 months. I have been to the house at LEAST once each week during that time. I have spent time searching for the 'perfect' light fixtures and paid my assistant time she spent finalizing all of the paperwork. 

 

With these two examples, I CLEARLY made more (if we're counting hourly wages) on my buyer but, as I originally said, it really depends. I also have buyers who have taken months and sellers who I meet for the listing appointment, sign them up and we are Closing in 30 days - super easy transaction. 

Nov 28, 2021 09:54 PM
Ambassador
1,765,426
Carol Williams
Although I'm retired, I love sharing my knowledge and learning from other real estate industry professionals. - Wenatchee, WA
Retired Agent / Broker / Property Manager

As with most things, "it depends". I've experienced "harder" on both sides. There are tangible costs (money) and intangible costs (time). Time is money. It goes both ways.

Nov 29, 2021 05:38 AM
Rainmaker
465,341
Buzz Mackintosh
Mackintosh REALTORS - Frederick, MD
“Experience, reliable, leadership”

Depends on the market, the client, property etc... there is no easy answer

Nov 29, 2021 03:48 AM
Rainmaker
537,054
Steven Nickens
Wailea Realty - Wailea, HI
R(S)GRI ABR, Maui Real Estate Hawaii

let just say I prefer listings in this market.

Nov 28, 2021 07:47 PM
Rainmaker
4,178,032
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

They each work hard in different ways. And who do you define "hard." That could change depending on a market, a niche, etc.

Nov 29, 2021 06:28 AM
Rainmaker
827,182
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

It depends on how you work; both require diligence if done right.

Nov 29, 2021 05:44 AM
Ambassador
1,920,732
Kat Palmiotti
406-270-3667, kat@thehousekat.com, Broker, eXp Realty - Kalispell, MT
Helping your Montana dreams take root

Neither one is the winner.

 

Listing agents have to get the home or land ready to show, work to make sure the price is right, set up showings, go to the appraisal, answer a million calls, etc. etc. If the sellers really wants to sell though, the homes always sell, and a deal is always done.

 

Buyer agents have to run clients around to see home after home after home, and after all that buyers might decide to "call the listing agent because she should know about such-and-such" or they might disappear into thin air, or they might not want to listen to what a good offer might be, or they might decide to have their parents or in-laws come at the last second before offer to look at the house or they might decide to make a bunch of lowball offers or......

 

Both parties work very hard. Neither wins this one.

Nov 28, 2021 06:20 PM
Rainmaker
4,140,215
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

There is so much truth in many of the answers provided.  The response by Alan May certainly puts things in perspective.  

Nov 29, 2021 06:40 AM
Rainmaker
757,273
Carla Freund
Keller Williams Preferred Realty - Raleigh, NC
Carolina Life RealEstate & Relocation 919-602-8489

I'm on team "It depends".

I work with both buyers and sellers. Some are easier than others. As a listing agent, there can be a lot of work when you have to respond to 20 +/- buyers agents calling you. You have to organize a ton of offers and make sure each and every one is presented. You have to respond to each buyers agent whether their got the offer or not. Sometimes, you have to be the heavy when the buyer's agent isn't getting the job done. There are so many things that can make it difficult to being a listing agent right now.

As a buyer's agent, you may have to write multiple offers before they get one. That includes research on many houses. That means talking at length about many homes before they go live. It might mean doing a Facetime showing with an out of state buyer. And, if the transaction is new construction, well it has the potential to be a beast to get through.

My most challenging transaction this year was new construction. 

Nov 29, 2021 06:28 AM
Rainmaker
4,266,067
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

No winner here. There are difficult sellers and difficult buyers and no matter waht you do there is no escape!

Nov 29, 2021 04:43 AM
Rainmaker
171,458
Jerry Thomas-Construction Loans
Cranbrook Loans - Farmington Hills, MI
Construction Loans in MI, OH, VA, GA and FL.

No question, buyer's agent in this market.

Nov 29, 2021 02:57 AM
Rainmaker
927,685
John Juarez
The Medford Real Estate Team - Fremont, CA
ePRO, SRES, GRI, PMN

Quick answer in this market: buyers’ agent work harder because the writing of numerous offers may be required in this strong seller’s market and typical competitive, multiple offer situations.

Listing agents work hard to get listings. Then, there is preparation of the property. Aiding the seller in completing required disclosures. Preparation of marketing materials. Then, open house(s)…or not. Receiving offers. Presenting offers to sellers. Negotiating to contract status. Negotiation, coaching and working through escrow to closing. I am sure I have forgotten something.

Buyers’ agents work to find buyers. Coach buyers in the procedures of home buying. Connect the buyer with a lender to get a mortgage approval. Present listings to buyers that meet the buyer’s criteria or develop additional information on listings that buyers find. Show houses. Write an offer(s). Negotiate to contact stage. Arrange for inspections if inspections have not been provided by the seller. Review inspections and disclosures. Negotiate potential repairs or credits or contract changes. Review appraisal. Coach and shepherd the buyer through the escrow process to closing. I am sure I have forgotten something.

Nov 28, 2021 06:48 PM
Rainmaker
998,389
Doug Dawes
Keller Williams Realty Evolution - Topsfield, MA - Georgetown, MA
Your Personal Realtor®

Depends on the agent

Nov 29, 2021 07:17 AM
Rainmaker
1,254,439
Thomas J. Nelson, REALTOR ® e-Pro CRS RCS-D Vets
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

Walk a mile in the other guy's stilettos and then comment.

I'm BOTH a listing agent and selling agent, therefore I'd say I work harder .😅

Nov 29, 2021 06:37 AM
Rainmaker
2,648,582
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

Buyer agents and if you disagree, walk a mile in their shoes...

Nov 29, 2021 06:02 AM
Rainmaker
6,674,583
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

It depends upon the market conditions and the niche of the agent.

Nov 29, 2021 03:32 AM
Rainmaker
903,607
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

The answer is yes. 

Listing agents do a lot more legwork at the beginning, buyer's agents do more leg work afterwards. And sometimes it is reversed. Where is Michael Jacobs? It depends!

Nov 29, 2021 07:05 AM
Rainmaker
1,730,245
Lyn Sims
Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg Real Estate Agent Retired

Ok, I'll fall for it & answer IMHO is a buyers agent.

Nov 29, 2021 06:00 AM
Rainmaker
108,972
Anita Allen
Levin Rinke Realty - 850-377-4410 - Pace, FL
Your Realtor for NW Florida, Pace/Milton/Pensacola

In this market, definitely buyer's agent.  Most have to write multiple offers to get the buyers under contract.  Multiple offers on homes make it even more difficult.

Nov 28, 2021 08:03 PM
Rainmaker
5,648,986
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Wanda,

It depends on so many factors.  A

Nov 29, 2021 06:44 AM
Rainmaker
4,996,359
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

Either can be super easy (or super tough), and I enjoy doing both, so I know how the market is doing.

Nov 29, 2021 06:05 AM
Ambassador
5,462,621
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Much better use of my time to focus on Listings.

Nov 28, 2021 11:41 PM
Ambassador
3,081,860
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate

It depends on the agent and the property.  I work my arse off on listings just to get them on the market.  Then I work 10X harder dealing with the buyer agents who seem, for the most part, to be clueless. 

Bottom line: a real professional is going to work hard in a hot seller market and do what they need to do to represent their client, buyer, or seller. 

Nov 29, 2021 08:58 AM
Rainmaker
2,808,406
Debbie Gartner
The Flooring Girl - White Plains, NY
The Flooring Girl & Blog Stylist -Dynamo Marketers

In my outsider opinion, it seems that buyer's agents work harder and listing agents work smarter, esp as they are able to scale more.

Nov 29, 2021 07:44 AM
Rainmaker
1,394,319
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

Yes.

Nov 29, 2021 07:35 AM
Rainmaker
767,094
Brenda Mayette
Miranda Real Estate Group, Inc. - Glenville, NY
Getting results w/ knowledge & know-how!

Yes... it definitely depends however, I think in this market we can all agree that a buyer's agent has to work more (but preferably not harder). ;)

Nov 29, 2021 07:34 AM
Rainmaker
3,338,867
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

If both do their job it can be equal. In this market though, it is a million times harder to get a listing than a buyer. One new listing can bring literally hundreds of buyers, but the work is no less. 

Nov 29, 2021 06:31 AM
Ambassador
1,382,881
Susan Emo
Sotheby's International Realty Canada - Brokerage - Kingston, ON
Kingston and the 1000 Islands Area

Neither work "hard" . . .  we're Realtors not ditch diggers! 
I remember interviewing a young lady for a receptionist job and when asked why she was interested in the position she gave an eye opening and humbling response:  she thought it to be a glamourous and dignified position to be working in a Real Estate office because all of her friends were in factories or housekeeping jobs.  She wanted to be able to dress up, look nice and be around smart people!!!  I'll never forget how that made me feel - privileged to say the least.

Nov 29, 2021 09:20 AM
Rainmaker
1,253,246
Gary Frimann, CRS, GRI, SRES
Eagle Ridge Realty / Signature Homes & Estates - Gilroy, CA
REALTOR and Broker

I would say that both work equally hard.  Not to dodge the question, but the tasks required are entirely different but both require an equal amount of effort.

Nov 29, 2021 09:12 AM
Ambassador
2,117,180
Hannah Williams
HomeStarr Realty - Philadelphia, PA
Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-820-3376

Wanda Kubat-Nerdin - Wanda Can!  To get the job done cooperation between the listing agent and the buyer agent is essential to get the job done and make everyone's job easier - without that word COOPERATION someone is going to have a harder job .

I just wrote a post on it 😌

Nov 30, 2021 08:20 PM
Rainmaker
1,114,405
Kevin J. May
Florida Supreme Realty - Hobe Sound, FL
Serving the Treasure & Paradise Coasts of Florida

The attrition rate weighs equally for both and when the effort is all meted out I would have to say it's a virtual tie.

Nov 30, 2021 07:14 AM
Rainmaker
652,609
Tony Lewis
Summit Real Estate Group - Valencia, CA
Summit Real Estate Santa Clarita & Aliso Viejo

I would say the Listing Agent has the harder job and biggest reward.

Nov 29, 2021 11:34 PM
Rainmaker
1,643,016
Beth Atalay
Cam Realty and Property Management - Clermont, FL
Cam Realty of Clermont FL

It really depends. I have been working with a family for months, they have seen every home that fits their criteria but refuse to pay over list price. I will not give up.
On the other hand the last four listings I had received multiple offers within the first few days and they all went smooth.
Then, there's a commercial listing I have which has taken so much time and money, still not under contract. A good agent will work hard regardless.

Nov 29, 2021 06:11 PM
Rainmaker
1,639,561
Georgie Hunter R(S) 58089
Hawai'i Life Real Estate Brokers - Haiku, HI
Maui Real Estate sales and lifestyle info

In theory you'd think it would be listing agents, but I've seen plenty that don't bother lifting a finger to market or assist in the sale.

Nov 29, 2021 02:16 PM
Rainmaker
564,296
Lynnea Miller
Bend Premier Real Estate - Bend, OR
Premier Real Estate Service in Central Oregon

Most listing agents can handle a large number of listings at the same time, but in working with active buyers, you can only handle a small few at the same time.  During the recession, listing agents worked very, very hard with short sales and foreclosures. During this last year, buyers agents have worked very, very hard with little results in the multiple offer scenarios we have been dealing with.  Both work hard.

Nov 29, 2021 01:37 PM
Rainmaker
853,205
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

It could depend on the agent.

 

Nov 29, 2021 10:03 AM
Rainmaker
2,088,500
Andrew Mooers | 207.532.6573
MOOERS REALTY - Houlton, ME
Northern Maine Real Estate-Aroostook County Broker

In small rural real estate markets, there is no "them" and "us". You work hard to get the listing, market the heck out of it and fully describe every square inch in your presentation. Then the phone calls, texts, emails and visits happen and you work equally hard to get the financing lined up if needed on a local level. You do whatever it takes for the clear to close memo for front row seats at a successful real estate closing. Army of one and no pot shots, resentment or snipes at "the other side" or assessing who is working hardest. It's peace in the valley and no drama.

maine lakefront

Dec 01, 2021 04:08 AM