Annette  Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041, Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ  (ReMax Realtec Group)

Spam prevention
Ambassador
4,255,414
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
The right Charlotte REALTOR!

I always ask my sellers what the #1 thing is that made them buy their house. Chances are, that very thing will attract their buyer so, I need to appeal to them in my marketing.

That is exactly how I write my reviews - how happy I am with whatever it was that made me buy the product/service.

Jan 03, 2020 05:51 AM
Rainmaker
5,571,826
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

probably installation and setting up the damn thing.

Jan 03, 2020 07:06 AM
Rainer
116,288
Karen Climer
Demetree School of Real Estate - Orlando, FL
Teaching people to pass the real estate exam

It depends on the situation.  I'm not concerned that I can't get tech support from Microsoft for Microsoft Office because there are so many other sources to get that tech support.  But if it was a more specific software with very few users then the company support would matter more.

Likewise, if I need a product to do my taxes and I'm ordering it today, I'm not too concerned about delivery time.  But if I were ordering it on April 10, then yes, delivery time matters.

You are asking for a black and white answer in a very gray situation.

 

Jan 03, 2020 06:49 AM
Rainmaker
1,386,718
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

Funny, back when I was at Guitar Center's Information Security group and we were reviewing potential products (log managment, vulnerability scanning, etc.), these are ALL questions we asked.

While I wouldn't put specifics in all of the answers publicly, for a 1-on-1 call with a verified potential customer of the product, I would.  I'll explain...

 

#1: No harm in this.  Helps establish authority.  Plus a first time user reviewing something that a first time user is looking to purchase has it's benefits too.  "Knowing nothing about CRMs, how easy was it to use/install/..."   I often speak about my background when answering questions (as I did at the start of this answer).

 

#2: Important, but not as much.  Only really important (shipping) if it's late.  If you have an installer lined up for the day after schdeduled delivery, knowing that they have an on-time or early shipping is important.  Ease of installation is important too.  Do you contract it out or do it in-house?  Any specialized people you need to loop in?  We usually needed the network and the server teams involved with our product installations and demos.

 

#3: Support is a crititcal thing.  If you do run into a problem, that's something you want resolved ASAP, not getting a reply within 24 hours.  Plus the speed of resolution is key.  Was it a settings change, or did something critical break and you needed to re-install or replace?

 

#4: This is extremely important, if you're buying for a particular feature or trying to figure out what a feature is/how it works without wanting to contact a sales person.  Usually the first stage is to see what's out there (Gartner Magic Quadrant is very helpful), then do your own recon to whiddle the field down to 2-3 competitors that you then invite in for demos and trials.

 

#5: This is the part I'd save for a 1-on-1 call.  There is a good reason why many companies don't advertise who they use for certain things.  I'm not saying who our log management was, or who we used for vulnerability scanning, etc.  If I put that out there, someone who is looking to "fingerprint" an organization may be able to find your review.  That's usually step one in any security assessment (and certainly the ones I did).  "Recon" or "OSINT" (Open Source INTelligence).  If you say I have 25 users, list your groups, and (of course) the product you use, I now know what to target.  The bad guy doesn't have to waste time trying to find your client database, they can simply go and look for a particular directory or network traffic, once they're in.

Every product has vulnerabilities.  If I know your infrastructure I, as a bad guy, can research and even craft my own attacks prior to getting on your network and fly under the radar.

Jan 03, 2020 08:53 AM
Rainmaker
1,898,287
Bob "RealMan" Timm
Ward County Notary Services - Minot, ND
Owner of Ward Co Notary Services retired RE Broker

It depends on the product/service that I'm purchasing Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041 . Had I read all the reviews on the last printer I purchased I wouldn't have had to return it (I wouldn't have purchased it) but I saw what I wanted to see on the 1st few reviews and when ahead with the purchase.

Jan 03, 2020 07:34 AM
Rainmaker
4,113,125
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

I actually pay no attention to reviews. I do my research thoroughly and then go with my gut instinct. However, after-sale (and even pre-sale) customer support is always important to me.

Jan 03, 2020 07:30 AM
Rainmaker
5,582,595
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

In the past two weeks, I have had two lousy product experiences.  I have tried to remedy both of them hoping for a human interraction.  Both were heavy on AI, and to find their email was a big hassle...I still have not heard back.  Bottom line is I would not use them again.  A

Jan 03, 2020 06:47 AM
Rainmaker
4,205,996
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Depending upon the situation 1, 2 or 3. Not a techie, so don't see myself ever applying 4.

Jan 03, 2020 05:33 AM
Rainmaker
990,805
Doug Dawes
KW Evolution - Topsfield, MA - Georgetown, MA
Your Personal Realtor®

1 & 3

Jan 03, 2020 08:06 AM
Rainmaker
6,603,303
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

My efforts would depend upon the product.

Jan 03, 2020 07:53 AM
Rainmaker
1,639,426
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Lend Smart Mortgage, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

Each experience differs and most important to me is a full refund if the product fails to deliver

Jan 03, 2020 07:38 AM
Rainmaker
2,641,192
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

If what was represented was as promised and customer support if engaged

Jan 03, 2020 07:09 AM
Rainmaker
4,039,221
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

4

Jan 03, 2020 06:52 AM
Rainmaker
1,153,400
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

All of the above, and some of the above. A lot is experience.

Jan 03, 2020 06:14 AM
Ambassador
5,406,172
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Features and performance.

Jan 03, 2020 08:09 AM
Ambassador
2,603,526
Wanda Kubat-Nerdin - Wanda Can!
Red Rock Real Estate - St. George, UT
So Utah Residential, Referral & Relocation REALTOR

Reliability, user friendliness and excellent customer support are most important to me when searching out tech products. If I gave a review, part of the list would be considered Annette.

Jan 03, 2020 07:51 AM
Rainmaker
1,385,224
Wayne Zuhl
Remax First Realty II - Cranford, NJ
The Last Name You'll Ever Need in Real Estate

Definitely #1 and #2  - if they're both great, then #3 won't be necessary :)

Jan 03, 2020 07:48 AM
Rainmaker
1,722,500
Lyn Sims
Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg Real Estate Agent Retired

3 & 4 I'm assuming for a CRM as mentioned. I think help is very important getting it off the ground.

For reviews I always give honest opinions. If company says out of the box & you're off & you have problems, well I'll leave that little message for everyone else.

Jan 03, 2020 07:37 AM
Rainmaker
4,936,521
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

I think support is very important.

Jan 06, 2020 07:26 AM
Rainmaker
910,246
John Juarez
The Medford Real Estate Team - Fremont, CA
ePRO, SRES, GRI, PMN

# 6...all of the above, Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041 

If I am looking for a product review, I want to see comments about all facets or as many facets as possible. If I am considering a purchase, I do not want to limit myself to only one aspect of product feature and/or performance. I may be looking for specific information but I am not going to disregard additional information.

If I am making a product review, it will be based on my skill, experience with the product and personal bias. To answer all inquiries of a curious potential buyer would be beyond my capabilities.

Jan 04, 2020 09:54 AM
Rainmaker
545,883
Tom Bailey
Margaret Rudd & Associates Inc. - Oak Island, NC

I'm with Barbara Todaro, ease of installation! If I don't get that nothing elsematters!

Jan 03, 2020 08:58 PM