Paul S.  Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS, South Puget Sound Washington Agent/Broker! (Fathom Realty Washington LLC)

Spam prevention
Ambassador
4,259,392
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
The right Charlotte REALTOR!

I require it of myself, Paul! And, I push like hell to get my buyers there too - OR we FaceTime the report together. We arrive the final 30 minutes so we're not underfoot/in the way of the inspector.

My buyers don't terminate based on inspections findings and I know it's because that the scary verbiage on the reports are tempered when they actually hear the 'English' version of the report VERBALLY and see it with their own eyes. They understand and they are not scared when the report arrives.

Plus, I enjoy learning something new and also having the necessary knowledge to discuss issues with the other agents and contractors involved in the repairs.

Mar 21, 2019 01:24 PM
Rainmaker
4,102,632
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

As an independent contractor and for many reasons that surpass that I require it and I agree each is informative in ways often beyond inspection.

Mar 21, 2019 01:19 PM
Ambassador
3,273,752
Anna Banana Kruchten CRS, Phoenix Broker
HomeSmart Real Estate BR030809000 - Phoenix, AZ
602-380-4886

Required by who Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS ?  It's not a requirement per our re rules.  With that said I belive I've attended a post wrap up of every inspection for as long as they've been doing them.  It just makes good sense to know what they're talking about and to be able to explain what needs to be addressed.

Mar 21, 2019 01:09 PM
Rainmaker
1,387,778
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

I'm not aware of any rule/law/requirement to do so, however it is a good practice so you can hear any issues straight from the inspector's mouth.

Mar 21, 2019 01:06 PM
Ambassador
4,582,242
Jeff Dowler, CRS
eXp Realty of California, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

Required? No. Do I attend! You bet. And I have learned alot over the years.

Mar 21, 2019 12:28 PM
Rainmaker
468,799
Dan Pittsenbarger
Keller Williams Western Realty - Bellingham, WA
Improving Conditions

Required, no - a good service point - yes.

Mar 21, 2019 12:04 PM
Rainmaker
1,901,261
Bob "RealMan" Timm
Ward County Notary Services - Minot, ND
Owner of Ward Co Notary Services retired RE Broker

Not required Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS . I don't want to be a distraction to the inspector so I learn from the reports.

Mar 21, 2019 11:58 AM
Rainmaker
4,122,158
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

We have no requirement to attend. In fact, attorneys have often recommended we don't for liability reasons. If my client does not attend, I'll  stop in toward the end for a verbal overview. I've found that inspectors don't want anyone hanging around their necks throughout an inspection. Obviously, if my clients attend, so do I. And if they just come for a quick update at the end, that's what I do as well. Unlike the old days, these days reports come out in less than 24 hours in living color with lots of photos... so you know pretty quickly what the issues are. And generally, inspectors do not need me for access... the top inspectors in town all have supra key access.

Mar 21, 2019 02:44 PM
Rainmaker
529,565
Diana Dahlberg
1 Month Realty - Pleasant Prairie, WI
Real Estate in Kenosha, WI since 1994 262-308-3563

We are not required but I like to be there for my New Buyers

Mar 21, 2019 12:38 PM
Rainer
52,347
Krista Jenkins, REALTOR®
klm Real Estate - Lubbock, TX
Residential sales and retail & office leasing

No, it is not a requirement. If the buyers wants to be present for a portion of the inspection, we recommend that they attend in the last hour (the inspections usually last around three hours). The thought process is that the inspector should not be distracted during the bulk of inspection process. I will attend with the buyer, but I will not go without the buyer.  Most of our inspectors are very prompt withe their written reports. Once it is received I go through it line by line with the buyers.

Mar 21, 2019 01:23 PM
Rainmaker
6,613,253
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

No. However, being there is a good business practice.

Mar 21, 2019 04:56 PM
Rainmaker
1,925,314
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTACONDOS.COM
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker

Not required, but it's the right thing to do for your client.

Mar 21, 2019 04:45 PM
Rainer
373,303
Clay R. Seay
Florida Homes Realty & Mortgage - Saint Augustine, FL

I have never missed a home inspection in 22 years regardless of who I represent, the Seller or Buyer. There is no Broker or State requirement, but since I am earning a commission, I earn it.

Being at the inspection is critical in my opinion to understanding the issues in the Inspection Report. Is this a deal breaker issue or cosmetic repair or a non-issue that is good information but does not affect the transaction? How do you know if you were not present? Reading the report and looking at pictures does not tell the whole truth and how best to deal with requested repairs, closing credits or negotiations for differing points of view.

and yes, I generally do learn something new or useful.

Mar 21, 2019 12:23 PM
Rainmaker
1,404,874
Raymond E. Camp
Ontario, NY
Licensed Real Estate Salesperson Greater Rochester

No, a force of habit from day one in the business.

Somebody has to let them in!

 

Mar 21, 2019 12:21 PM
Rainmaker
5,591,480
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Paul,

I don't think this is a required duty.  We attended and like you said we learned something new everytime on commercial buildings.  A

Mar 21, 2019 11:59 AM
Rainmaker
684,915
Peter Testa
Nationwide Homes - Danbury, CT
PETER TESTA

As the buyer's agent I would always attend. I am there to provide support, insight & access. Plus I think it's beneficial to hear what the Inspector says. Especially if you are going to be negotiating inspection items later it helps to hear what he says 1st hand.  

Mar 21, 2019 02:37 PM
Rainmaker
365,454
Jay McHugh
SendOutCards-Appreciation Marketing Expert - Acton, MA
YOUR SendOutCard Mentor

Not required..... yet I play it by ear as needed.....

Mar 21, 2019 02:11 PM
Rainmaker
5,571,934
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

we are not required to do anything....it's expected that the buyer's agent be at the home inspection with the buyer....as listing agents, we show up...and keep out of the way...always within hearing range.... if there's an issue we want to know first hand from the inspector so we can understand the situation....

Mar 21, 2019 01:42 PM
Rainmaker
535,339
Rose Mary Justice
Synergy Realty Pros - Dandridge, TN
Synergy Realty Pros

No it is not required.

Mar 21, 2019 01:16 PM
Rainmaker
889,177
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

Required? No requirement in place.

DO I? You bet.

Especially when the homeowner is paying me to watch their back. And when that WDO dude arrives who MO is destructive testing. the dude and buyer and buyers agent need to be advised they will be held financially responsible for any DEFACEMENT that occurs......and sign here.

And 99% of agents call themselves "FULL SERVICE" and are MIA for inspections, showings, appraisal and verification.

Mar 21, 2019 12:46 PM
Ambassador
3,480,692
Margaret Rome Baltimore 410-530-2400
HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400 - Pikesville, MD
Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome

It is my own requirement and part of the service I provide. My sellers are not allowed to be present but they must be accessible by phone.  Are we so afraid of being sued that we don't want to know what is happening at an inspection?

Mar 21, 2019 07:10 PM
Rainmaker
1,109,745
Kevin J. May
Florida Supreme Realty - Hobe Sound, FL
Serving the Treasure & Paradise Coasts of Florida

Not required to although I will attend when asked and whenever I can. Like you said it can be a good education.

Mar 21, 2019 03:31 PM
Rainmaker
849,960
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

Not required, but I almost always do. It depends on the buyers. It's a good idea for all first time homebuyers to attend.

Mar 21, 2019 03:08 PM
Rainmaker
563,429
Maria Sapio
Keller Williams of Central PA - Carlisle, PA
Real Estate Agent- Carlisle, PA. Mariasapio.com

It's not 'required' - but yes, it always good to be learning - 

Mar 21, 2019 01:57 PM
Rainmaker
384,977
Joseph Domino 480-390-6011
HomeSmart - Scottsdale, AZ
Real Estate Made Easy

Not required, but I think it is important. If you are going to be writing up a repair request you should know what the inspector is indicating.

Plus I think the clients like it.

Mar 21, 2019 12:41 PM
Rainmaker
762,472
Brenda Mayette
Miranda Real Estate Group, Inc. - Glenville, NY
Getting results w/ knowledge & know-how!

It's not officially required but I make sure that I'm there as another set of eyes & ears for my clients.  I also use it as an education opportunity to forewarn them that the report issued after the inspection WILL read as a nightmare and to keep it all within the context of what they're seeing/hearing during inspection time.  IMHO, if we just "sign & dash" when it comes to contracts, where is our value??  Then we are just door openers and mapping our own death wish. 

Mar 22, 2019 04:10 AM
Ambassador
5,413,483
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Not required and we are advised to not attend, but to be available right after the inspection.

Mar 21, 2019 06:25 PM
Ambassador
3,058,272
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate

I require it of myself to attend ALL inspections for both buyers and sellers. 

Mar 21, 2019 05:29 PM
Rainmaker
702,162
Steve Higgins
RE/MAX Kelowna - Kelowna, BC

No I am not required to attend. I do not attend unless asked by the buyers. The buyers pay for the home inspections here, so we are not privy to it unless they want us to be.

Mar 21, 2019 05:22 PM
Rainmaker
1,723,555
Lyn Sims
Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg Real Estate Agent Retired

Yes I do & there are many new things to learn.

Mar 21, 2019 04:56 PM
Rainmaker
4,214,037
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Not a requirement but I prefer to attend.

Mar 21, 2019 04:07 PM
Rainer
326,822
J.R. Schloemer, CRS
Kentucky Select Properties - Louisville, KY

Required, no. I do like to be there or make an appearance at them so I can know what is going on with the inspection report when repair requests are written.

Mar 21, 2019 03:28 PM
Rainmaker
2,642,262
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

Its better than those continuing education courses by far....

Mar 21, 2019 03:28 PM
Rainmaker
166,938
Jerry Thomas-Construction Loans
Cranbrook Loans - Farmington Hills, MI
Construction Loans in MI, OH, VA, GA and FL.

Yes, but I bring my laptop and work. Just hit the highlites for me at the end.

Mar 21, 2019 02:44 PM
Rainmaker
666,743
Abby Stiller
REMAX Realty Group - Cape Coral, FL
Professional Bilingual Realtor (239) 284-8637

So agreed with Debe Maxwell, CRS 

Mar 21, 2019 07:27 PM
Rainmaker
1,640,186
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

No, we are not required but we do as we view it as one of the services we provide our clients whether the seller or buyer.

Mar 21, 2019 06:00 PM
Rainmaker
1,890,983
Kat Palmiotti
406-270-3667, kat@thehousekat.com, Broker, eXp Realty - Kalispell, MT
Helping your Montana dreams take root

Not required, but I do attend all inspections, and my buyers attend as well. I want to hear what the inspector says.

Mar 22, 2019 02:20 AM
Rainmaker
911,486
John Juarez
The Medford Real Estate Team - Fremont, CA
ePRO, SRES, GRI, PMN

I am not "required" to attend inspections. I just do it. I want to hear from the inspector what is up ASAP rather than wait for a written report. 

Mar 22, 2019 11:34 AM
Rainer
3,735
Paul Strickland
Carolina One Real Estate - Charleston, SC
Realtor serving the Greater Charleston SC area.

There is not a law requirement in the state of South Carolina, but when representing a buyer, I will always attend the inspection and urge the buyer to attend or at a minimum be there for the final hour and overview of the report.  Having the inspector explain his findings verbally and visually always makes the buyer a more informed client.  

Mar 22, 2019 06:49 AM
Rainmaker
801,244
Peter den Boer
Atlanta Communities - Woodstock, GA
MBA,GRI, Associate Broker, Realtor

Not required but I have never missed one. A great learning time for me and it helps me understand issues if I see it and it is explained to me in person.

Mar 22, 2019 05:08 AM
Rainmaker
4,046,379
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

Not required and I typically do not attend.

Mar 22, 2019 04:35 AM
Rainmaker
3,617,099
James Dray
Fathom Realty - Bentonville, AR
Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results

Never have, never will.  

Mar 22, 2019 01:47 AM
Rainmaker
1,519,451
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

Not required. But i often do.

Mar 21, 2019 11:56 PM
Rainer
14,060
Teresa Cripps
Crye-Leike Realtors - Mount Juliet, TN
Patient, Compassionate, Caring.

Not required to, but I'm ALWAYS there!

Mar 26, 2019 12:35 PM
Rainmaker
4,017,105
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

I make it apoint to attend them all.

Mar 25, 2019 08:55 PM