Shaun Nilsson (CityBlast)

Spam prevention
Ambassador
3,058,472
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate

I only had one from someone I have never done business with - did not know - never met them.  It was a retaliatory effort in response to a yelp review I wrote about a company that provided horrible service.  

I responded by saying - you must have me confused with some other nut job because I don't know you, never have done business with you, have never met you, etc.  I contacted Google for help.    

That's the thing about third party online review sources ... we have no control and any ass wipe can leave a crappy review even though we have never done business.  

Jun 29, 2016 05:48 AM
Ambassador
2,571,547
Fred Griffin Florida Real Estate
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

     Ignore trolls.  If it's a comment on your blog or website that does not justify a response, delete it.

    Legitimate complaints (you deserved it), hold out an olive branch and a peace pipe. 

   Outright attacks, profanity etc. report it to Yelp or Google or whomever.

Jun 29, 2016 06:38 AM
Rainmaker
1,723,705
Lyn Sims
Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg Real Estate Agent Retired

I got a listing once from a bad online review in G. Whoever it was said no one answered the phone there. I replied how can that be when we are open 7 days a week 9 to 7? So I answered, stayed civil & someone thought I had spunk.

Jun 29, 2016 05:21 AM
Rainmaker
920,173
Jennifer Mackay
Counts Real Estate Group, Inc. - Panama City, FL
Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582

Early on, I received a scathing review from a local broker who didn' understand the internet or the value of having webmaster on staff who knows his stuff.

I contacted them directly and gave them an ulitmatum - retract it, or be prepared for a review war they would lose terribly!

It was retracted

Jun 29, 2016 10:03 PM
Rainmaker
4,123,161
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

I haven't, so I've never needed to respond.

Jun 29, 2016 10:48 PM
Rainmaker
3,069,984
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

Fred Griffin nailed this one!

Jun 29, 2016 09:45 PM
Rainmaker
634,282
Kathleen Luiten
Resort and Second-Home Specialist - Princeville, HI
Kauai Luxury Ocean Home Sales

So far none but I don't have the big following some people here do.

Jun 29, 2016 07:03 PM
Rainmaker
1,232,877
Thomas J. Nelson, REALTOR ® e-Pro CRS RCS-D Vets
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

                                         Ever seen the Godfather? 

Jun 29, 2016 06:00 PM
Ambassador
4,312,759
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Shaun Nilsson - lucky so far....

Jun 29, 2016 04:17 PM
Ambassador
3,039,280
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

I have had some cat fight comments.  I've taken down a post or two because of it.  No negative reviews.  

Jun 29, 2016 02:33 PM
Rainmaker
679,479
CA COASTAL ESTATES Lauren Selinsky Perez CRS
California Coastal Estates - Aliso Viejo, CA
"Your Real Estate Broker" #oclauren

First of all, always respond. Yes! Client wanted my commission and said, "check bounced" and I was horrible at customer service. Holy crap! I laughed so hard! Not only did I always contact my clients, we were ready to close 7 days early on an all cash offer. BUT always respond and state your words. It's important to show the disgruntled client was far from telling the truth.

Jun 29, 2016 01:19 PM
Ambassador
3,722,444
Patricia Kennedy
RLAH Real Estate - Washington, DC
Home in the Capital

Once my company got a bad review on Yelp from someone who didin't like the people who rented a house on their block that we had listed.  It was followed by dozens of good reviews from clients who love us and jumped in to defend our honor.  So it was probably a net plus.

Jun 29, 2016 01:14 PM
Ambassador
2,074,807
Silvia Dukes PA, Broker Associate, CRS, CIPS, SRES
Tropic Shores Realty - Ich spreche Deutsch! - Spring Hill, FL
Florida Waterfront and Country Club Living

I recently had a comment on one of my localism posts from a member of the public who was complaining in a long rant about people who move here from other states calling them rude and more. I just deleted it. 

Jun 29, 2016 10:55 AM
Ambassador
2,224,167
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

I should double check, but I don't think I've received any. I might have to have our assistant check on the office, though. We also manage over 80 properties, and I KNOW we've had some unhappy tenants. 

Jun 29, 2016 09:49 AM
Rainmaker
1,459,827
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Shaun Nilsson This is an easy one. You don't respond by adding fuel to the fire.

Jun 29, 2016 06:05 AM
Rainer
66,028
Cody Carmen
Adhi Schools, LLC - Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Market Analysis--Educational Content, Adhi Schools

I personally have not received any and my company has received very few. But our typical policy, one that usualy works, is to assess the claim, contact Yelp/Google/etc. if it is blatant falsehood and contact that disgruntled customer. Typically people are less confrontational when someone actually speaks to them and tries to understand the concern. We have fixed problems this way. Obviously would not work in every circumstance, but confronting a problem in a polite, yet firm manner is a decent strategy in many cases. 

Jun 29, 2016 06:05 AM
Ambassador
5,414,363
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Thank God I have not had any so far.

Kyle Reyes does a nice job of deflecting and redirecting the troll attacks, by the time he is done with them I am sure that many probably delete their comment.

Jun 29, 2016 05:27 AM
Rainmaker
4,017,244
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

Fred has it nailed.

Jun 29, 2016 11:36 PM
Rainmaker
6,614,135
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

Delete negative comments if they appear.

Jun 29, 2016 10:14 PM
Ambassador
3,986,710
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

I haven't had anything directly but my neighborhoods have and I acknowledge and ask for a call so I can hear the details and assist to work it out.

Jun 29, 2016 10:55 AM
Rainmaker
2,642,412
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

I have received some pretty interesting comments, feedback & input over the years all good and welcomed. I take risks, share who I am and I expect response. We don't have to agree on anything but to share is mandatory or else ask yourself this question. Why are you here?

Jun 29, 2016 09:38 AM
Rainmaker
1,519,451
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

Unfortunately not all reviews are about your business. Some are from people you never worked with. For example, I have a FB community page and anyone can check in and leave reviews.  Majority of check ins have nothing to do with my service. I simply thank for each of them. 

Jun 29, 2016 06:55 AM
Rainmaker
1,154,075
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

One can ignore it as many are circumstantial. This is Redflag #1.

Those with several bad reviews reveal through identity of agent character. That is Redflag #2. Watch out.

Jun 29, 2016 05:55 AM