Val Evans

Spam prevention
Ambassador
1,074,141
John Meussner
Mortgages in AZ, CA, CO, DE, FL, GA, IN, MD, MN, MT, NC, NJ, NV, OK, OR, PA, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VA, WI - Fair Oaks, CA
#MortgageMadeEasy Fair Oaks, CA 484-680-4852

My problem with testimonials is always 'where' to get them.  Some clients are on LinkedIn but not YELP, others don't have a google account.  I've got some on yelp, google, linkedIn, Trulia, and scattered around to some other places, but it's hard to get them concentrated to one place for me.

Nov 19, 2015 02:20 AM
Rainmaker
2,775,631
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

Results don't lie is my driving force. Not others saying it but me producing it

Nov 19, 2015 04:39 AM
Rainmaker
5,191,633
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Guilty of not asking for testimonials! Got to change that!

Nov 19, 2015 08:11 PM
Rainmaker
1,683,762
Larry Johnston
Broker, Friends & Neighbors Real Estate and Elkhart County Subdivisions, LLC - Elkhart, IN
Broker,Friends & Neighbors Real Estate, Elkhart,IN

They have not grown into the successful agent they could be if the asked for referrals.  It could more than double their yearly income.

Nov 19, 2015 12:43 PM
Rainmaker
443,220
Cindy Davis
SD Home Source Realty - San Diego, CA

I can't even begin to guess why other Realtors do or don't do something...

Nov 19, 2015 08:14 AM
Rainmaker
1,498,288
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

My issue with testimonials is where do you put them?  Yelp?  Google business page? AR?  Zillow?  Trulia?  How easy are they for the client to create?  Does the provider control whether they get posted (Zillow does)?  Will these services be there tomorrow?

 

Having them on your website is good, but not the best place in the world.

Nov 19, 2015 06:28 AM
Rainmaker
1,658,486
John McCormack, CRS
Albuquerque Homes Realty - Albuquerque, NM
Honesty, Integrity, Results, Experienced. HIRE Me!

It seems most clients are reluctant to write them.  I suppose it's a time thing.  I post all mine on my website. 

Nov 19, 2015 05:27 AM
Rainmaker
1,157,785
FN LN
Toronto, ON

I can't answer why others do or do not do various things and I don't worry about it.

Nov 19, 2015 04:30 AM
Rainmaker
2,817,665
Debbie Gartner
The Flooring Girl - White Plains, NY
The Flooring Girl & Blog Stylist -Dynamo Marketers

I believe that the biggest issue is getting customers to follow through.  We've had MANY customers tell us they would do it and they have never followed through...even after we have send emails w/ easy links.

I ask agents what they do, and they are having the same issues, even the larger teams.

The 2nd issue is that there are so many sites to do reviews...for me it's Angie's List, Yelp, Google, FB, my 2 websites, and AR.

For many of the places, people need to sign up for an accts, so a lot people don't.  Also, on  places like yelp, many are hidden.

Nov 19, 2015 04:14 AM
Ambassador
3,160,059
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

I admit, I rarely ask. I have some that are not solicited which mean the most to me. I know I should ask, but I'm dreadful at asking for someone to praise me.

Nov 19, 2015 03:34 AM
Rainmaker
4,800,082
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

I think it's a matter of forgetting to post them here, more than anything else.

Nov 19, 2015 02:38 AM
Rainer
61,641
Renee Paray
Coldwell Banker Realty - Blue Bell, PA
REALTOR

I recently secured a listing from a client who was reading my client testimonials. They do work and I try to keep mine updated as much as possible. 

Nov 19, 2015 01:09 AM
Rainer
206,525
Elisa Bruno-Midili, NYS Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker
Cafe Realty - Mount Kisco, NY
Cafe Realty 914.230.0650

I believe agents don't ask for them. There are so many sites where you can be reviewed, google, facebook, zillow or create a survey at Survey Monkey. The third party endorsement is so very important.

Perhaps realtors need to be taught how to do this. Reputation management is a job in itself!

Nov 19, 2015 09:04 PM
Rainmaker
2,759,787
TeamCHI - Complete Home Inspections, Inc.
Complete Home Inspections, Inc. - Brentwood, TN
Home Inspectons - Nashville, TN area - 615.661.029

 Good Friday morning Val. Would anybody really post something negative about themselves? That is the main reason that I do not do testimonials.

Nov 19, 2015 05:17 PM
Rainmaker
1,577,443
Karen Fiddler, Broker/Owner
Karen Parsons-Fiddler, Broker 949-510-2395 - Mission Viejo, CA
Orange County & Lake Arrowhead, CA (949)510-2395

Lazy, or shy I guess. 

Nov 19, 2015 10:31 AM
Rainmaker
2,224,473
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

I have had emails asking for testimonials sent from Z and T. These sites make your client create an account. No one I've worked with wants to do this, and I don't blame them. So that's one reason you don't see a lot of testimonials on those sites. I do ask for them. 

Nov 19, 2015 08:07 AM
Ambassador
6,354,630
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, KW Diversified - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Maybe they are afraid of what their clients would say, or perhaps they just forgot to ask at the right time.

Nov 19, 2015 05:08 AM
Rainmaker
622,532
Buzz Mackintosh
Mackintosh REALTORS - Frederick, MD
“Experience, reliable, leadership”

You need to remember we are in a 90 /10 or 80/20 real estate world (agent wise) depending on the local market you are in. 10% of the agents do 90% of the business.

Nov 19, 2015 01:23 AM
Rainmaker
617,935
David Gibson CNE, 719-304-4684 ~ Colorado Springs Relocation
Colorado Real Estate Advisers LLC - Colorado Springs, CO
Relocation, Luxury & Lifestyle residential

Val,
# 1 I haven’t found them to be important. People decide whether I’m good or not based on their own experience.

 

# 2 Some people are better than others at asking for them in a way that doesn’t offend the client.

Nov 19, 2015 01:10 AM
Rainmaker
1,731,203
Rob Thomas
Prestige Homes of The Tri Cities, Inc. CALL....423-341-6954 - Bristol, TN
Bristol TN-VA & Tri Cities Agent, ABR, GRI, e-Pro

That's a great question Val Evans .....I think we get so busy and things are going so well that we forget to ask for them ....

Nov 20, 2015 09:18 AM
Rainer
2,440
Maria Webb
Keller Williams Realty - Fort Gratiot, MI
I connect sellers, buyers and investors

Most realtors fail to get testimonials due to lack of follow up.

Nov 20, 2015 01:05 AM
Ambassador
3,727,581
Patricia Kennedy
RLAH@Properties - Washington, DC
Home in the Capital

Val, actually, I don't think that client testimonials are important unless you are trying to rig your ratings on Zillow, Trulia or some other lead selling site. I hear agents bragging about playing the system, and I think that most people are smart enough to see through it.

Nov 20, 2015 12:34 AM
Rainer
8,120
Monika Griffith
Property Stages Group LLC - Leesburg, FL
Home Staging Full Service

As a matter of fact, in my business as a Home Stager and Redesigner, I always ask for referrals, which are already given verbally. Unfortunately sometimes they are too busy with their own affairs and just forget to answer my emails with a review. I guess that's the same everywhere.

Nov 19, 2015 10:40 PM
Rainmaker
1,513,143
Raymond E. Camp
Ontario, NY

When I am not too afraid to ask they go to my personal web site and dispersed from there.

Nov 19, 2015 10:02 PM
Rainmaker
2,350,707
Lise Howe
Keller Williams Capital Properties - Washington, DC
Assoc. Broker in DC, MD, VA and attorney in DC

afraid to ask for them! 

Nov 19, 2015 10:02 PM
Rainmaker
4,434,127
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

Thank you for the question. I need to get some testimonials.

Nov 19, 2015 09:48 PM
Rainmaker
5,096,266
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

Why do so many agents not do so many things? It's not hard to get a testimonial if you ask... I just don't think it's on the radar of many agents.

Nov 19, 2015 09:24 PM
Rainmaker
7,789,094
Roy Kelley
Retired - Gaithersburg, MD

I have never asked for testimonials and have never used them in my marketing.

Nov 19, 2015 09:16 PM